In this tutorial, learn more about:
- How to create a Link?
- How to use the Links?
- What happens if I forget the password to one of my Links?
- How do I revoke a Link?
- What happens if I revoke a Link?
- Is it available for all types of Tresorit accounts?
Links allow you to copy and share secure hyperlinks to files stored on your computer. You can share these links with anyone, even if they don't have a Tresorit account. Links have the same encryption and integrity protection as files synced using the Tresorit client.
When created, links are saved to your clipboard and can be immediately pasted into an email or elsewhere. All Links you create are stored. From the Tresorit app menu click on <Links>. Mouse over any link to email, copy, revoke or edit.
There are four ways to create a Link:
1. Create directly from a file
Once Tresorit is installed on your computer, you can create a Link for any file by right clicking it. Select <Create Link> from the drop down menu.
2. Create a Link using Drag & Drop
Drag & drop any file into the Tresorit app to create a Link, as illustrated below. This is the same process you may have followed to create a tresor (an encrypted folder), by dragging & dropping a folder into the Tresorit app.
When done properly, the window will be black with this small text <New link>. If you drop it, the upload process will start which will result in a link copied to your clipboard (so when you wish to use the link, you just need to Paste it or use the Ctrl+V hotkey).
You can set limits to your encrypted link:
a) Set the day when your link expires.
b) Limit the total number of downloads
c) Add a password
Please note that Solo and Business customers can also create links without expiry date. This way the file will be available to download until the link gets revoked.
For added security, tick the checkbox and enter a password for your Link (Learn more about how to create a strong password or read this short guide on our blog). It is always a good idea to transmit the Link and the password on separate channels. For example, if you send the link via email, consider texting the password via your phone or calling the recipient with the password.
3. Create a Link using the Cloud Browser
The area to the right of your tresors is called the Cloud Browser. Right click on any file in it and select <Create Encrypted Link> from the menu.
4. App Links
From the menu bar click <Links>. Here you can see all the links you created.
And at the bottom of this page you see <New Encrypted Link>.
Browse your files and select the file you wish to create a link for.
Password change is not yet available for Links. However, you can change forgotten password by revoking the original Link and re-creating it.
Click on <Links> from the Tresorit app menu. Mouse over the Link you wish to revoke and click the <Revoke> button. This removes and deletes the Link so it can no longer be accessed, even if someone already has it.
For security purposes, revoked shared links are deleted, no one will be able to download them again. If the Link is re-created, a new unique URL is generated to ensure the content is only available to those with access to the new link.
- Link creation is available on all accounts.
- Expiry dates, limiting number of downloads and creating password protection are limited to Solo and Business accounts.
- Maximum file size by plan:
- Basic - 100MB
- Premium - 500MB
- Solo, Business and Enterprise - 1GB limit.
- In Business and Enterprise accounts, administrators can turn off the ability for specified users, and user groups, to create Links.
For more technical information, please see our attached White paper.
Thank you so much for your attention. If you have questions or feedback, feel free to contact us.