In this tutorial, learn more about:
- What is Remote Wipe?
- When to use Remote Wipe?
- How does remote wipe work?
- Is remote wipe available on all Tresorit accounts?
- How do I remove data from a lost or stolen mobile device?
- I am a Tresorit for Business Admin. How do I suspend a user’s access to data stored in Tresorit?
Remote Wipe is a Tresorit account security feature. It lets you remotely disable access to your Tresorit account and files from any mobile device (phone, tablet) you previously used Tresorit on.
It is especially useful if one of your devices gets lost or you need to revoke and terminate someone’s access to the company’s data:
- If a mobile device is lost or stolen, you can choose remote wipe to revoke access to from that device to your Tresorit account.
- If a Tresorit for Business user needs to be deleted from the team, admins can use remote wipe to revoke that user’s access to their Tresorit account from all devices.
- Once you unlink a device and select the remote wipe option, the device will immediately stop syncing.
- Tresorit will attempt to delete all content from your mobile device whenever the device is online.
Remote wipe is available on all accounts:
- All users can manage their own linked devices under Security in the <Visit My Account> menu.
- In Business and Enterprise accounts, administrators can also suspend a user’s account.
- Please note that remote wipe is not yet available for desktop devices. However Admins can control which managed users are allowed to use Tresorit desktop sync apps. If you are an Admin simply check or uncheck ‘Allowed devices’ on the ‘Groups and Policies’ page within the Admin Center.
Scroll down for a step-by-step walkthroughs.
Open up your Tresorit app and click <Visit My Account> on the left. You can access this page directly from the Web Access too.
Visit <Linked devices> under <Security>. Hoover over the mobile device you wish to unlink, and click <unlink>.
Confirm <Unlink> in the pop-up window and Tresorit will log you out and wipe all downloaded data in a few minutes on the device.
Log in to your Tresorit account and visit the Admin Center. You can access this page directly from Tresorit Web Access too. Once you are in, choose <Users and Devices> from the menu tabs. Select all users, whose access needs to change.
Choose <Suspend> under the <Set Status> option to suspend the user’s access to their Tresorit account. This is not a terminal action, you can always switch back the users’ status to Active, if it’s necessary. If you need to permanently remove a user please select the <Remove> option.
Tresorit will suspend the user’s status silently, so Admins can send out an additional notification of the status change as needed.
Thanks for your attention. Visit our Knowledge Base for more useful info: we recommend checking out how to set up 2-Step Verification and Passcode lock to make your Tresorit account safer. You can always contact us if you have any questions.