In this tutorial, learn more about:
- What can i do when i do not know the password?
- How does the password code work?
- In case you are not logged in anymore, we suggest taking the following steps
- Profile re-creation
What can i do when i do not know the password?
Unfortunately there is no password reset feature (If there was one we would be able to access your files). We believe that the users' privacy is the most important so even we are not able to access the files thanks to our shareable encryption technology.
However, we recently added a new feature called the Password Code. This is a new method to change your password by requesting a one-time authentication code via email, but it requires a working Tresorit desktop client application that automatically logs you in. Please note that the Password Code feature will not recover your actual password, but it can help you create a new password securely.
How does the Password Code work?
To change your password open a desktop Tresorit client and visit Settings menu. You will find a <Change Password> button under <Settings/Preferences>.
Choose the <Forgot password?> option under the current password box.
Click the <Send me the security code> and open your email account you used to register to Tresorit.
Copy your verification code to your Tresorit client and create a new password as well.
In case you are not logged in anymore, we suggest taking the following steps:
1. Please try as many passwords as you can and check the language and the keyboard settings.
2. Please check whether your tresors were synced to your computer, that way you can easily re-upload them.
Otherwise: unfortunately as there is not any password reset option, the only way you can reset your password is to re-create your profile, I will tell you the exact steps how you can do that.
Please let us show you a quick tutorial of the profile re-creation:
1. You will need to sign up to Tresorit again with your existing mail address and a different password, so first you need to click on <Sign up>
2. Then you type your existing mail address and a different password. If you do it properly, a small red window will appear that tells you that this account has already been created with a different password and it asks you whether you wish to delete your profile.
3. By clicking on <Click here to delete your account> you need to confirm the deletion first and then you will receive a mail in your mailbox. When you open the mail, you will see that it contains a link that you need to click on. Please note that when you delete your account, all the data you have in the cloud will get deleted as well. If you do it properly, you will see this website:
4. If you change your mind please choose the first option. If you choose to delete your password due to lost password, please select that option to help us understand our users. In case the account deletion is successful, you will see this window:
Once you have deleted your profile successfully, you will be able to re-create it normally.
Thank you very much for your kind attention, now you can easily re-create your profile should you have any issues with your password. Please note that when you re-create your account, all your tresors need to be re-created but your mail address and storage space remains.
If you face any difficulty while re-creating your account or you have ay other issue, please contact us and we will be eager to help you out.