There are cases when a file is left open and another user starts working on it on another computer, or both users add modification at the same time. We do not want to lock any of your files, so instead, Tresorit will save the original file as well as a second version which has the same name but is appended with "email@example.com’s conflict" and the date the conflict occurred. By creating a conflicted file, Tresorit ensures that no changes get lost and nobody will overwrite another person's hard work.
The conflict detection is entirely based on the file's content. If Tresorit detects that the local and the cloud version of the file is different (by as little as one byte), one of the following synchronization mechanism will be applied:
- Normal Sync Update: If the file is changed locally but not in the cloud, the new local version will be uploaded as a new version to the cloud when Sync is on. Learn more about using Tresorit on more devices Tresorit.
- If the file is changed in the cloud as the result of someone changing it on another computer, the updated version will be downloaded and will overwrite the local version of the file if it’s closed. If the file is open a conflict file will be created
- Conflicted File: If the file is changed both locally and in the cloud (i.e. it was concurrently modified on two different computers), the local version will be renamed to a file containing ”conflict” in its name, along with the email address of the user who created the conflicted file.
Conflicted copies can also occur when a file is left open on another computer, especially when using applications with an auto-save feature. Closing the file from within the application on either computer should prevent further conflicts.
How can I prevent conflicted copies from happening in the future?
We have a few possible workarounds to prevent conflicted copies:
- If simultaneous editing caused the conflicted copies closing the affected file from within the application on either computer should prevent further conflicts.
- Move the file into a second folder designated for "In Use", or to another location on your desktop while editing it. Doing this causes the file to appear as deleted and doesn't allow other users to edit the file. Don’t forget to move the file back into its original location, once you are done editing.
- Another option is to limit others permissions to the specific tresor (if needed for limited periods). This action will affect all files, so please use it wisely: other members of the shared tresor can still access the content of the tresor it if they need to, but will not be able to sync changes. Read more about access roles, and permissions in Tresorit.