For security reasons, you cannot change the name or email address linked to your Tresorit account. These details are embedded in the security certificates that protect your data through end-to-end encryption.
To update your credentials, follow the guide for your subscription:
➡️ Account transfer for Personal, Professional
➡️ Account transfer for Business, Business Pro, Enterprise
Basic and Business Standard plans: continue below
Change your name and/or email
Each email address can only be registered to one Tresorit account. To change your email address (with or without changing your name):
- Create a new account with your new email address.
- Request a subscription/extra storage transfer: Contact us from your old email address and provide your new email address.
-
Transfer your folders:
- Log in to your old account and invite your new account as a Manager to each folder.
- Log in to your new account and accept the invitations.
- Log back into your old account and transfer folder ownership to your new account.
ℹ️ Ask owners of any shared folders you access to invite your new account.
- Delete your old account: Double-check that all folder ownership is transferred. Deleting your old account permanently removes all files and folders, and they cannot be recovered.
Change your name only
If you want to keep your current email address and only update your name:
- Back up all your data from Tresorit to your local drive.
- Delete your existing account.
- Create a new account using the same email address and your new name.
- Re-upload your files to Tresorit.
ℹ️ If you have a subscription, it will be automatically assigned to the new account.